butter beer bread recipe quick easy bread

beer bread

Lauren no function bread well without. A little Simpsons quote for you, there. Because Simpsons. But also because beer. Me and bread go together like Homer and beer. But wait. What if you combine bread and beer? Does that make me Homer? Let’s find out!

Much as I love bread, I could probably count on one hand the number of times I’ve been bothered to make it at home. Hell, we can rarely even stand to have it in the house for fear of my lack of self-control. Quick bread recipes and no-knead breads are awesome if you hate all the waiting around – like my sweet potato bread – the first recipe I ever posted on here. This beer bread recipe is just as cakey as that but full of stuff sure to send your cholesterol soaring. Save it for the rarest of treats. Or a football snack.

beer bread instructions easy bread recipe

buttery baked beer bread

I’m not a huge fan of beer, but during the big football thing which happened recently, there was more of it kicking around the house than usual. So I nabbed a bottle and chucked it in to a bowl with some flour and my word – what happened was more magical than you can even imagine. An indulgent, buttery fluffy cakey bread, infused with the dark flavours of gigs and sunny pub gardens.

Do you like bread?

Do you like beer?

Good. Of course you do. Try this:

Quick, cakey beer bread recipe

Ingredients

A bottle of beer (I used a bottle of Theakston’s Old Peculiar)

350-375 grams* plain flour

50g golden caster sugar

110g butter, melted (unsalted) plus extra for greasing

1 tablespoon baking powder

1 teaspoon salt

beer bread recipe make bread using beer

1 – Heat your oven to 170 degrees c.

2 – Grease and line a loaf pan – I used my trusty (sadly discontinued) 1.5L Le Creuset deep-dish stoneware loaf pan – not bragging, just indicating size/volume.

3 – Sift the flour, sugar, salt and baking powder in to a large bowl, then gradually pour the beer in, stirring with a wooden spoon to combine. It should resemble regular cakey batter. Add a little more flour if it looks a little too wet.

4 – Pour half of the melted butter in to your lined pan, then dollop in the batter, then pour the remaining melted butter on top. It’ll make an oozy gloopy ugly butter/batter/butter sandwich and look puddley and fatty and gross but you won’t regret it. Your arteries may, but your taste-buds will not.

beer bread recipe old perculiar baking

Bake for about an hour – give it a look and a prod at the 50 minute mark. It’ll look bubbly and full of fluffy craters, but with a decent crust.

Turn out on to some baking paper and serve warm with (even more) butter smeared on a slice.

You’re welcome/I’m sorry. Enjoy!

bread using beer recipe

(*I STILL HAVEN’T BOUGHT SCALES. I AM GREAT AT GUESSING AND HATE MATHS. SORRY)

 

