Here’s what you’ve definitely all been waiting for – the second installment of The Cauliflower Chronicles: my attempt to conquer my most-hated vegetable by any means necessary.

After the popularity of my cauliflower rice recipe last time, I was bombarded with suggestions. Which was awesome! We were all geared up to make a cauliflower crust pizza this week when tragedy struck and our oven door spontaneously exploded. Fortunately I was already out of the room (eating, obviously), but it smashed to smithereens and has yet to be replaced.

Luckily, just a few hours before it decided to break itself (and my heart), I had whipped up a batch of tots! But not tater tots…. cauliflower tots. Mmm. I cannot confirm whether or not these will make your oven explode too. The glass didn’t actually crack until about 2 hours after cooking but I don’t want to be held responsible for any glass-related mishaps you may encounter. Really.

Actually I cheated a tiny bit and made cauliflower and broccoli tots. I couldn’t think of a way to reduce the cauliflower-ness of these without just adding a load of cheese. And after ranting on about eating on the healthier side of things, I didn’t think that would be the greatest approach. Although I did use a little bit of light cream cheese.  Apologies, as ever, for my freestyle approach to measurements…

Cauliflower and broccoli tots

cauliflower broccoli tots recipe

Ingredients

300g of cauliflower and broccoli florets (small)

1 tablespoon light cream cheese

2 eggs, beaten

100 grams (apprx) dry polenta (or rice flour)

50 grams breadcrumbs

1 tablespoon chopped fresh flat-leaf parsley

1 teaspoon paprika

salt and pepper

olive oil

 

cauliflower tater tots recipe

1 – Heat the oven to 180 degrees. See? It’s not even a crazy enough temperature to test it to any sort of exploding limit. Honestly.

2 – Steam the vegetables for about 5 minutes. They don’t need to be mushy for mashing but they do need to be cooked. Drain well.

3 – Chop up the steamed veggies in a fine meal. Or, like me, get bored before you hit the “fine meal” stage and decide that a choppier texture would be more ‘rustic’. Continue to kid self.

broccoli cauliflower tots recipe4 – In a large mixing bowl, add the beaten eggs, cheese and seasoning and mix to combine.

5 – Add the polenta a few tablespoons at a time, stirring until a stickier mixture forms. Not entirely dough-like, but stiffer. Repeat with the breadcrumbs.

6 – Lightly oil and line a baking tray and dollop a spoonful of mixture at a time. I used the spoon to create the shape I wanted just by gently nudging the mixture straight off after lightly shaping and compressing it on the spoon with my hands.

broccoli cauliflower tater tots

7 – Bake at 180 for about 12-15 minutes, or until the tots start to look golden brown.

baked cauliflower totscauliflower and broccoli totsServe as a side or a snack! Great dipped in barbecue sauce or ketchup. And best eaten fresh and hot, otherwise they do tend to turn a little bit rubbery. And almost certainly not for saving in your pockets for later, Napoleon.

