seeded savoury scones

This is the first recipe I’ve posted on here which has taken loads of attempts and experimenting. I’ve mentioned before that we rarely have or make Actual Bread in our house, due to me having absolutely no self control around it, resulting in mild wheat intolerance. (Bread/stuffing-my-face intolerance, really).

We were having some sort of light spring-time dinner earlier this year and I thought I’d experiment with making a light savoury scone instead of pitta/garlic bread for the side.

rye scones recipe

This is about the 5th generation of these and flavour and texture-wise, I like to think I’ve totally nailed it. I’ve come to accept the fact that they don’t rise like regular scones, but that’s OK.

They go great with hummus or salady lunches, on the side with a lamb dish or any Moroccan-inspired flavours and spices, and are best enjoyed fresh, warm, and slathered in real butter. And do slather that butter on because there is NONE in the recipe. The tahini replaces the butter in the scones, and they are packed with seeds which means you’re getting a hit of fiber, feeling fuller and baking a boost of vitamins, protein and gut-balancing alkaline (obviously this depends on the seeds you use).

Seeded Tahini Rye Scones

tahini scones

seed and tahini rye scones

Ingredients

300 grams flour (I used a mix of 2/3 organic wholemeal rye flour 1/3 plain flour)

3.5 teaspoons baking powder

100 grams golden caster sugar

4 heaped tablespoons fresh tahini (I use a whole tub of this)

6 tablespoons mixed seeds, nuts, fresh herbs (I use The Food Doctor savoury seed blend)

1 teaspoon salt

1 egg

160ml milk

savoury scones recipe

1 – Heat the oven to 190 degrees C.

2 – Sift the flours, sugar, salt and baking powder in to a large mixing bowl.

3 – In a separate bowl, mix the egg and milk together (reserve a little in the bowl)

4 – Add a spoonful of tahini at a time in to the dry ingredients, mixing with a balloon whisk to form breadcrumbs.

5 – Once all the tahini has been combined and the whole mixture resembles breadcrumbs, mix in the seeds. I added chopped fresh rosemary too but this is optional. I’ve added a teaspoon of pesto on occasion which is nice too, although be wary of adding too much oil.

6 – Unlike regular scone pastry, this stays quite wet because of the tahini, so no rolling pin or cutting rings. I just dollop a spoonful or two per scone on to a lined baking tray and bake for 15 minutes. I hadn’t tried this before, but this time I brushed the little bit of leftover egg and milk wash on top of the scones half way through baking, which gave them a nice shine and a little bit of a crusty bite on top.

seeded tahini rye scones

seedy tahini scones

Best served fresh out the oven (after cooling a little on a wire rack), and perfect for cosy, rainy grey evenings.

Ooh – and as so many people mentioned that plant in the background when I snapped these on instagram, fresh out of the oven yesterday, I thought I’d give it a special mention. Since handing in my notice at work, my current colleagues have completely been completely spoiling me. One gave me a plate from the Ridgway Homemaker set, and another took me to the most fabulous plant nursery full of my favourite cacti and succulents. This is just one of my new friends, in the little Hornsea Saffron pot my friend Steven donated to me.

succulant cactus Hornsea pottery Saffron pot

